wiki:Help/Action/Purge

Edit > Purge…

source:trunk/images/purge.png Keyboard shortcut: Ctrl+Shift+P (expert mode only)

The purge action cleans up your data layer by removing the selected objects from the layer. However, in contrast to the source:trunk/images/dialogs/delete.png delete action, they will not be deleted in OSM database on the server when you upload your changes.

It is, as if JOSM completely forgets about these objects and they never had been downloaded.

Warnings

Dependent objects

When you purge a node of a way, that way cannot exist without its nodes, so it has to be purged as well. JOSM will give a warning in this case and lets you inspect the objects that need to be purged in addition to the original selection.

The same holds, if you like to purge a new object (id:0) that is member of a relation. Members with a positive id can be purged without affecting the relation. Their status will be incomplete after purging.

If you get this warning, you can safely proceed, but be aware that more objects are purged, than originally selected.

Modified objects

If you purge modified objects, these edits are lost. This can be intended, but you will get a warning in this case.

Clear Undo/Redo buffer

This option is supposed to free resources (memory). But don't rely on it (yet). If you are short of memory, it is still the best option to source:trunk/images/save.png save the (partially purged) layer and reopen it in another instance of JOSM.

See also


Back to Menu Edit
Back to Main Help

Last modified 19 months ago Last modified on 2016-02-22T05:26:17+01:00