wiki:Help/Action/Delete

source:trunk/images/mapmode/delete.png Keyboard shortcut: Ctrl + Delete - one the [Help/Modes JOSM modes].

Allows the user to delete nodes and other objects.

Delete mode

Alt modifier

Ctrl + Delete, when Alt is held when using this tool the way and its' associated unused nodes are deleted.

Shift modifier

Ctrl + Delete, when Shift is held when using this tool, the segment you clicked is removed from the way, and the way split into two.

Ctrl modifier

Ctrl + Delete, when Ctrl is pressed when releasing the button, the objects and all its references are deleted. The exact definition of all its references is:

  • If a node is deleted, the node and all ways and areas the node is part of are deleted as well.
  • If a way is deleted, only the way and no nodes are deleted.
  • If an area is deleted, only the area gets deleted.

The following key shortcuts are defined:

  • If the user did not press Ctrl and the object has any references, the user is informed and nothing is deleted.

Deleting objects being part of relations

If you delete an object which is part of a relation the object has to be removed from the relation. JOSM doesn't silently do so. Rather, the following confirmation dialog is displayed:

The entries in the displayed list indicate from which relations (second column in the table) the object (or the objects, if you delete more than one object) have to be removed.

Click Cancel if you don't want to remove the objects from these relations. In this case, JOSM doesn't delete the objects either, the operation is aborted. Click OK if you agree with removing the objects from the displayed relations.

See also


Back to Main Help

Last modified 12 months ago Last modified on 2016-09-25T15:45:14+02:00

Attachments (1)

Download all attachments as: .zip