wiki:Help/Dialog/Notes

Notes Panel

source:trunk/resources/images/dialogs/notes/note_open.png Keyboard shortcut: none — one of the JOSM panels

This panel presents a list of OSM notes and allows to create new, comment, close or reopen notes. These notes can also be edited on the OSM main page (right toolbar).

Downloading notes

There are different possibilities:

Features

Icon Name Description
source:trunk/resources/images/download.png Download notes in current view
source:trunk/resources/images/dialogs/notes/note_new.png Create a new note
source:trunk/resources/images/dialogs/notes/note_comment.png Add comment Add a comment to an open note.
source:trunk/resources/images/dialogs/notes/note_closed.png Close note
source:trunk/resources/images/dialogs/notes/note_open.png Reopen note
source:trunk/resources/images/dialogs/sort.png Sort notes You can sort the notes in the list by state (open, closed, new), username, created date or last change date.
source:trunk/resources/images/help/internet.png Open the note in an
external browser
Opens the selected note in your defaut web browser. Alternatively you can use Advanced info (web) from the View menu.
source:trunk/resources/images/upload.png Upload note changes
to server
After you created a note or made changes to existing notes, the changes are not uploaded automatically. You need to press this button. If you try to delete the Notes layer or close JOSM with not yet uploaded note changes, JOSM will ask, if you want to upload the changes.
(left click) A left click on a notes symbol in the map view or on a list entry in the list opens the note's content in a tooltip in the map area
Ctrl+C Select a note in the list and press Ctrl+C to copy the ID of the note and the text of the first comment to the clipboard. (A more usable way is to select and copy text directly in the notes tooltip.)

Advanced Preferences

There are some advanced settings for notes. To change them first download some notes and then go to the Advanced preference and search for the following keys:

  • osm.notes.daysClosed: you can specify how long (in days) the notes should still be downloaded after they were closed. The default value is 7 (You can set this value also under Connection preferences.)
    • set a positive number to set the days (e.g. 10 means a note which was closed 10 days ago will be downloaded, a note which was closed 11 days ago will not)
    • set it to 0, to download only open notes
    • set it to -1, to download all created notes ever (of course only in the selected area and limited to the maximum download limit, see below)
  • osm.notes.downloadLimit: you can specify the maximum number of downloaded notes. The default value is 1000. The maximum value is 10000. There is a warning displayed if you reach the limit.

See also

  • Autosave - restores unsaved Notes layers in case of a JOSM crash.
  • a description how you may use notes from the main developer of the JOSM notes implementation

Back to Windows menu
Back to Sidebar
Back to Main Help

Last modified 8 days ago Last modified on 2020-05-20T19:21:50+02:00

Attachments (1)

Download all attachments as: .zip