wiki:Help/Action/UploadSelection

File > Upload Selection

source:trunk/images/uploadselection.png Keyboard shortcut: Ctrl+Alt+Shift+U

Upload a single modified object or an arbitrary collection of modified objects to the server.

Have also a look at source:trunk/images/upload.png Upload to OSM to get an overview how uploading works and what to take in mind before uploading.

Please be careful with editing and uploading data. When in doubt that everything is okay, refrain from uploading and save the area locally to disk, check what you need and try again later.

Table of Contents

  1. Upload a single modified object to the server
  2. Upload multiple modified objects to the server
  3. Delete a locally deleted object on the server
  4. Frequently Asked Questions
    1. I've selected an object but it doesn't appear in the Upload Selection Dialog when I click on File -> Upload Selection. Why's that?
    2. I've selected a single deleted node for uploading but Upload Dialog shows that additional nodes and ways are uploaded. Why's that?
  5. See also

Upload a single modified object to the server

  • Click on a modified node or a modified way or select a modified relation in the Relation Dialog
  • Click on File -> Upload Selection
  • The following dialog shows the object you've selected for uploading:


  • Click Continue to proceed to the Upload Dialog? and to finish uploading.

Upload multiple modified objects to the server

  • Select multiple nodes, ways, or relations
  • Click on File -> Upload Selection
  • The following dialog shows the object you've selected for uploading:


In this dialog, you can still change the list of objects to upload. Just modify the selected entries in the upper list.

  • Click Continue to proceed to the Upload Dialog? and to finish uploading.

Delete a locally deleted object on the server

When you delete an object in JOSM it is only marked as beeing deleted. It is still available the local dataset although it isn't displayed any more and although you can't select it. You can nevertheless upload a locally deleted object to the server. In this case, the object gets deleted on the server too.

  • Click on File -> Upload Selection
  • In the lower part of the following selection you can select locally deleted objects which should be uploaded to the server:


In this example, one locally deleted node is uploaded to the server.

  • Click Continue to proceed to the Upload Dialog? and to finish uploading.
  • Be prepared for a long delay while checks are made. If it is possible, use File -> Upload instead to upload the deleted objects, and you can avoid the delay.

Frequently Asked Questions

I've selected an object but it doesn't appear in the Upload Selection Dialog when I click on File -> Upload Selection. Why's that?

The object must be modified in order to appear in the Upload Selection Dialog for uploading.

  • A new object is always modified.
  • An existing object downloaded from the server is only modified if you've changed a tag, moved the object, added or removed nodes from a way, etc. since the last upload.

If an object you've selected isn't displayed in the Upload Selection Dialog, then it's probably not modified.

I've selected a single deleted node for uploading but Upload Dialog shows that additional nodes and ways are uploaded. Why's that?

Sometimes it's not possible to upload exactly the set of object you've scheduled for uploading. JOSM completes your selection with additional objects from the local dataset if necessary. Here're two examples:

  • If you try to upload a modified way which includes new nodes, JOSM makes sure that the new nodes are uploaded too, because otherwise the way would be invalid on the server.
  • If you try to upload a deleted node which is still in use by way on the server, JOSM makes sure that the way is deleted too, if possible.

See also


Back to Menu File
Back to Main Help

Last modified 12 months ago Last modified on 2016-11-21T19:49:47+01:00

Attachments (3)

Download all attachments as: .zip