Modify

Opened 12 years ago

Last modified 5 years ago

#3384 new enhancement

Prevent modified status even if no real modification has been done

Reported by: anonymous Owned by: team
Priority: minor Milestone:
Component: Core Version: latest
Keywords: Cc: bilbo, skyper

Description (last modified by skyper)

Sometimes there are duplicate nodes in the map, however, if I merge two duplicated nodes (that are not used by anything else, like POIs), this should result in one of the nodes being deleted (and the other kept), however, the result is that one of the nodes is deleted and the other is flagged as modified, so it gets uploaded to server even when it have not changed at all.

This happend both when merging the nodes manually and when merging through validator ("fix" button on listing of duplicated nodes)

Attached is example of JOSM behavior:

dupnodefix-before.osm - situation before doing anything. Two identical nodes at same position
dupnodefix-after.osm - situation after fixing (merging nodes) - note that one of the nodes have action='delete', second have action='modify'

The result should be that only one of the nodes gets deleted and the other is kept intact.

Attachments (3)

dupnodefix-before.osm (1.2 KB) - added by anonymous 12 years ago.
before merging
dupnodefix-after.osm (1.2 KB) - added by anonymous 12 years ago.
after merging
mergenodes.patch (677 bytes) - added by anonymous 12 years ago.
Patch to not modify the node while merging if it is not modified

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (15)

Changed 12 years ago by anonymous

Attachment: dupnodefix-before.osm added

before merging

Changed 12 years ago by anonymous

Attachment: dupnodefix-after.osm added

after merging

comment:1 Changed 12 years ago by stoecker

Priority: majorminor
Summary: Merge nodes does not work properlyPrevent modified status even if no real modification has been done
Type: defectenhancement

Actually that is not restricted to nodes, but to all objects in JOSM. The node is actually changed, as it contains the joined tags of both nodes.

JOSM misses a way to detect changes which actually do not change the object at all. This also applies to changes which have been done and later reversed.

comment:2 Changed 12 years ago by anonymous

While this can happen also in other ways (some value changed to something and later back), the problem when merging nodes is probably the most common, as nodes usually have same values when merging. Therefore, the merge could check if keys are the same and if they are, donot modify the node (and just drop the others).

I've done small patch that does that, attaching it here...

Changed 12 years ago by anonymous

Attachment: mergenodes.patch added

Patch to not modify the node while merging if it is not modified

comment:3 Changed 12 years ago by stoecker

Summary: Prevent modified status even if no real modification has been done[partial PATCH] Prevent modified status even if no real modification has been done

comment:4 Changed 12 years ago by Gubaer

Resolution: fixed
Status: newclosed

(In [2064]) applied #3384: patch by anonymous: Prevent modified status even if no real modification has been done)

comment:5 Changed 12 years ago by Gubaer

Resolution: fixed
Status: closedreopened

mergenodes.patch applied in r2064, but reopening the ticket which has a much broader scope.

comment:6 Changed 12 years ago by Gubaer

Summary: [partial PATCH] Prevent modified status even if no real modification has been donePrevent modified status even if no real modification has been done

comment:7 Changed 12 years ago by anonymous

Status: reopenednew

A note: Use "see #xxxx" instead of "fixed #xxxx" or "applied #xxxx" to reference a bug without closing :-)

comment:8 Changed 12 years ago by bilbo

Cc: bilbo added

comment:9 Changed 7 years ago by Don-vip

Ticket #3804 has been marked as a duplicate of this ticket.

comment:10 Changed 7 years ago by skyper

Cc: skyper added
Description: modified (diff)

comment:11 Changed 6 years ago by skyper

So the only way for ways to prevent a new version is to purge it, atm.

comment:12 Changed 5 years ago by stoecker

Ticket #13054 has been marked as a duplicate of this ticket.

Modify Ticket

Change Properties
Set your email in Preferences
Action
as new The owner will remain team.
as The resolution will be set.
to The owner will be changed from team to the specified user.
The owner will change to anonymous
as duplicate The resolution will be set to duplicate.The specified ticket will be cross-referenced with this ticket
The owner will be changed from team to anonymous.

Add Comment


E-mail address and name can be saved in the Preferences.

 
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.