Modify

Opened 12 years ago

Closed 7 years ago

#3804 closed enhancement (duplicate)

Upload does upload unchanged nodes/ways/relations

Reported by: andre68@… Owned by: team
Priority: minor Milestone:
Component: Core Version: latest
Keywords: Cc:

Description (last modified by Don-vip)

JOSM currently uploads nodes/ways/relations even if they have not been changed or the change was retracted by not using undo.

Example 1: Adding a tag to a node und removing that tag afterwards without using undo. Undo is not usable if there were other changes in the meantime. The node is beeing uploaded then which should not be the case.

Example 2: Joining ways. When a node of way1 is joined to way2 then both way1 and way2 are beeing uploaded even though way1 was not modified.

This unnecessarily stresses the OSM server and makes the history of the object unnecessarily long.

JOSM should compare the current attributes of an object with the old state and should only upload the object when there was a real change.

Attachments (1)

join-node-way-fix.patch (1.1 KB) - added by Daeron 12 years ago.

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (7)

comment:1 Changed 12 years ago by Daeron

Summary: upload does upload unchanged nodes/ways/relations[PATCH] upload does upload unchanged nodes/ways/relations

Attached patch fixes the second case.

The first case would need either storing the original version of all modified objects and on upload comparing for actual changes, or storing a hash for the original version, and comparing that to the modified versions hash.

Changed 12 years ago by Daeron

Attachment: join-node-way-fix.patch added

comment:2 Changed 12 years ago by stoecker

Resolution: fixed
Status: newclosed

(In [2431]) applied #3804 - patch by Daeron - reduce unnecessary changes

comment:3 Changed 12 years ago by anonymous

Resolution: fixed
Status: closedreopened
Summary: [PATCH] upload does upload unchanged nodes/ways/relationsUpload does upload unchanged nodes/ways/relations

The patch was only for the example 2, the example 1 needs further improvements

comment:4 Changed 11 years ago by skyper

Still in r4013

comment:5 Changed 11 years ago by stoecker

Well, case 1 is not that simple. We would need to have a "remember current server state" and then check if modified element is really different to the server version. I'm pretty sure there is another older ticket which has the same idea as improvement.

comment:6 Changed 7 years ago by Don-vip

Description: modified (diff)
Resolution: duplicate
Status: reopenedclosed

Closed as duplicate of #3384.

Modify Ticket

Change Properties
Set your email in Preferences
Action
as closed The owner will remain team.
as The resolution will be set.
The resolution will be deleted.

Add Comment


E-mail address and name can be saved in the Preferences.

 
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.