Modify

Opened 4 years ago

Closed 4 years ago

#11354 closed enhancement (fixed)

Improve behavior when entering value without closing dialog

Reported by: naoliv Owned by: team
Priority: normal Milestone: 15.04
Component: Core Version:
Keywords: Cc: Klumbumbus, akks, skyper, stoecker

Description

It's strange to add a tag to an object (via Ctrl+A), press Shift+Enter (to enter more values) and still see the same value at the key and value.
Wouldn't it be better to clean the fields, since the inserted values are already present at the current objects?

Attachments (0)

Change History (12)

comment:1 Changed 4 years ago by Klumbumbus

Cc: Klumbumbus added

comment:2 Changed 4 years ago by simon04

Resolution: fixed
Status: newclosed

In 8234/josm:

fix #11354 - Add tags: clear input fields after adding tag without closing dialog

comment:3 Changed 4 years ago by simon04

Milestone: 15.04

comment:4 Changed 4 years ago by naoliv

Resolution: fixed
Status: closedreopened

It's broken now.
Select one way, add highway=residential with Shift+Enter, the fields get cleared and then press Esc to quit the dialog (without adding other tags). Note how the way has no tags.
Tested with r8236

Last edited 4 years ago by naoliv (previous) (diff)

comment:5 Changed 4 years ago by simon04

This is the same behaviour as before. But I agree, that it might be unwanted. See ticket:8024#comment:12 where this was added …

comment:6 Changed 4 years ago by naoliv

Couldn't Cancel just close the dialog, without undoing everything?

comment:7 Changed 4 years ago by simon04

Cc: akks skyper stoecker added

Technically yes, but we should clarify which behaviour is expected. Two years ago, the current behaviour was implemented intentionally. I'm fine with both variants (mostly, since I had discovered this feature just recently and haven't used it much).

Last edited 4 years ago by simon04 (previous) (diff)

comment:8 in reply to:  6 ; Changed 4 years ago by stoecker

Replying to naoliv:

Couldn't Cancel just close the dialog, without undoing everything?

Sounds not good to me. A operation cancel should reset the state to what was there before the dialog was called.

comment:9 in reply to:  8 Changed 4 years ago by skyper

Replying to stoecker:

Replying to naoliv:

Couldn't Cancel just close the dialog, without undoing everything?

Sounds not good to me. A operation cancel should reset the state to what was there before the dialog was called.

+1

Adding multiple tags is a feature and it is still one action.

comment:10 Changed 4 years ago by naoliv

Is it only me who closes the dialogs with the Esc key? :-/

comment:11 Changed 4 years ago by stoecker

Use <ENTER> instead of aborting with <ESC>.

comment:12 Changed 4 years ago by stoecker

Resolution: fixed
Status: reopenedclosed

Modify Ticket

Change Properties
Set your email in Preferences
Action
as closed The owner will remain team.
as The resolution will be set.
The resolution will be deleted.

Add Comment


E-mail address and name can be saved in the Preferences.

 
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.