Modify

Opened 10 years ago

Closed 4 years ago

Last modified 4 years ago

#4003 closed defect (fixed)

Upload dialog makes it too easy to overwrite the correct edit summary of open changesets on the server with whatever is in the summary checkbox

Reported by: avarab@… Owned by: team
Priority: major Milestone: 16.02
Component: Core Version: latest
Keywords: Cc:

Description (last modified by skyper)

  1. Edit & Open a changeset, keep it open
  2. Make some more edits, open another changeset and opt to close it after upload
  3. Edit some more

Now when I go to the changeset dialog the changeset I opted to close is shown in the list of available changeset even though JOSM should know it was closed. The changeset I still have open on the server is not shown however.

When I press the refresh button the closed changeset disappears and the open one appears in the selector.

I select the open one on the server but the pre-filled changeset comment still reflects the changeset I just closed. If I wasn't careful and pressed upload (and closed the changeset) at this point my main changeset would have an incorrect upload comment.

Attachments (1)

closed-as-open.png (215.7 KB) - added by avarab@… 10 years ago.
josm showing a changeset as open when the server thinks it's closed

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (9)

comment:1 Changed 10 years ago by Gubaer

Resolution: worksforme
Status: newclosed

Can't reproduce. If I run the steps you describe the open changeset is still in the list of open changesets and the closed changeset is not in the list any more.

Closing as worksforme.

comment:2 Changed 10 years ago by avarab@…

Resolution: worksforme
Status: closedreopened

I just reproduced this on r2515, it's still an issue.

Note that after step 3 when you try to upload again the default checkbox will be at "use new changeset", change that to "use open changeset" to see the changeset that's closed on the server.

Screenshot showing the bug attached, JOSM showing the changeset it closed as open when the server shows it as closed.

Changed 10 years ago by avarab@…

Attachment: closed-as-open.png added

josm showing a changeset as open when the server thinks it's closed

comment:3 Changed 10 years ago by Gubaer

The attachement shows changeset 1953 as open in JOSM and changeset 1953 as "still editing" on the OSM website. Looks fine to me. Where's the problem?

comment:4 in reply to:  3 Changed 10 years ago by avarab@…

Summary: Inconsistency issues with opening multiple changesetsUpload dialog makes it too easy to overwrite the correct edit summary of open changesets on the server with whatever is in the summary checkbox

Replying to Gubaer:

The attachement shows changeset 1953 as open in JOSM and changeset 1953 as "still editing" on the OSM website. Looks fine to me. Where's the problem?

Here's a better step-by-step description of the problem, and I also changed the bug summary.

  1. Edit & Open a changeset, save & keep it open. Comment = My open changeset
comment = My open changeset
[X ] Open a new changeset
[ ] Use an open changeset:

[ ] Close changeset after upload
  1. Edit more & go to upload dialog

Upload dialog now lists comment / open changeset as:

comment = My open changeset
[ ] Open a new changeset
[X] Use an open changeset: 1980 - My open changeset

[ ] Close changeset after upload
  1. Switch that to this:
comment = My closed changeset
[X] Open a new changeset
[ ] Use an open changeset: 1980 - My open changeset

[X] Close changeset after upload
  1. Upload
  2. Make more changes, go to upload dialog
  3. Dialog is now:
comment = My closed changeset
[X] Open a new changeset
[ ] Use an open changeset: 1980 - My open changeset

[X] Close changeset after upload

I.e. the comment field is auto-filled in with the comment of the last (now closed) changeset but the drop-down dialog shows the open changeset on the server with the correct summary.

  1. Tick Use an open changeset

When I tick the Use an open changeset checkbox the changeset on the server list will be changed to use the edit summary that was in my summary box at the time:

comment = My closed changeset
[X] Open a new changeset
[ ] Use an open changeset: 1980 - My closed changeset

[X] Close changeset after upload

This is the problem. It's way too easy to overwrite valid changeset summaries on the server with whatever detritus was left in the changeset summary box and end up with cases where you have two closed changesets like this:

1981 - My closed changeset
1980 - My closed changeset

When in fact you wanted this:

1981 - My closed changeset
1980 - My open changeset

This is how I think it should be fixed:

When the upload dialog is like this:

comment = My local summary
[X] Open a new changeset
[ ] Use an open changeset: 1980 - My remote summary

[X] Close changeset after upload

And I tick the "Use an open changeset" checkbox it should be changed to this:

comment = My remote summary
[ ] Open a new changeset
[X] Use an open changeset: 1980 - My remote summary

[X] Close changeset after upload

I.e. change the local summary to the remote one, not the remote one to the local one as it does now:

comment = My local summary
[ ] Open a new changeset
[X] Use an open changeset: 1980 - My local summary

[X] Close changeset after upload

If you really want to change an open changeset with the summary My remote summary to My local summary you should select My local summary from the drop-down list of recent summaries after ticking Use an open changeset.

comment:5 Changed 6 years ago by skyper

Description: modified (diff)

This would be a nice enhancement. After I did twice accidentally merge several edits in one changeset the last days, I definitely need a warning.

comment:6 Changed 4 years ago by simon04

Resolution: fixed
Status: reopenedclosed

In 9514/josm:

fix #4003 fix #7004 fix #8149 - Improve changeset tags handling (from earlier changeset, from dataset)

comment:7 Changed 4 years ago by simon04

Milestone: 16.02

comment:8 Changed 4 years ago by simon04

Ticket #10946 has been marked as a duplicate of this ticket.

Modify Ticket

Change Properties
Set your email in Preferences
Action
as closed The owner will remain team.
as The resolution will be set.
The resolution will be deleted.

Add Comment


E-mail address and name can be saved in the Preferences.

 
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.