Modify

Opened 9 years ago

Last modified 9 years ago

#7728 new enhancement

Automatic user logout mode needed for shared computers

Reported by: jaakkoh Owned by: team
Priority: normal Milestone:
Component: Core Version:
Keywords: haiti, shared_computers, hot Cc: kate.chapman@…, nicolas.chavent@…, worldwidewolford, Seb.p, sev_hotosm

Description

(My first JOSM ticket - pardon me for all incompletness/ignorance issues..)

It would be super great if there was an option in the JOSM settings to set automatic logout of a user when JOSM is closed. .. Essentially a user (on a shared-use computer/user-account) would be prompted to enter his/her password again for every new JOSM session.

Ideally in this mode JOSM would remember user names and offer, say last 10-20, user names in a drop-down menu, so user would only need to select his/her username and then type in the password.

The need for this feature has surfaced in Haiti among other places and not having such automatic logout has caused a lot of grief as we haven't been able to pin-point who has messed up the OSM data (because people have used -- and are still using to an extent) other mappers' accounts for uploading their edits.

Attachments (0)

Change History (5)

comment:1 Changed 9 years ago by jaakkoh

Cc: sev_hotosm added

comment:2 Changed 9 years ago by jaakkoh

Keywords: haiti shared_computers hot added

comment:3 Changed 9 years ago by jaakkoh

Zero idea what the keywords are supposed to be used for. Added the above as I think those relate to this issue...

comment:4 Changed 9 years ago by simon04

When not setting an account via the preferences, JOSM asks upon upload for the credentials. These are saved as long as JOSM is running, and therefore the user is not asked a second time.
IMO, it then boils down to adding a history text field for the username, right?

comment:5 Changed 9 years ago by skyper

Is this really a problem which should be solved within JOSM ? There are much saver ways to achive this:

  1. different user accounts
  2. different preferences directories per user.

By the way, should we not lead the user to use an encrypted methode (OAuth) to transmit their password ? Than a checkbox "only save for the active session" in the OAuth-dialogue is needed.

Modify Ticket

Change Properties
Set your email in Preferences
Action
as new The owner will remain team.
as The resolution will be set.
to The owner will be changed from team to the specified user.
The owner will change to jaakkoh
as duplicate The resolution will be set to duplicate.The specified ticket will be cross-referenced with this ticket
The owner will be changed from team to anonymous.

Add Comment


E-mail address and name can be saved in the Preferences.

 
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.