Modify

Opened 7 years ago

Closed 7 years ago

#7695 closed enhancement (fixed)

Don't invite to upload data which has not been downloaded

Reported by: tongro Owned by: Don-vip
Priority: normal Milestone:
Component: Core Version: tested
Keywords: file save upload Cc:

Description

I'm working on a private .osm file, which should not be uploaded, and I save the file. When I then try to exit JOSM, I get invited to upload the data to OSM. This is dangerous.

I have tried the procedure outlined in ticket #4043, but (1) it's quite complicated, and (2) it doesn't seem to work - although the layer icon gets a little warning sign attached to it, exiting the program still results in me being invited to upload the data.

What I think should happen is that JOSM would keep a record of whether the data came from opening a file or from downloading from OSM, or a mixture of both, and then decide whether or not to invite the user to upload an already-saved file.

Attachments (1)

josm-screenshot.png (25.7 KB) - added by tongro 7 years ago.
Exit dialogue v.5241

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (6)

comment:1 Changed 7 years ago by Don-vip

It should be no longer the case after r5233, see ticket #7684 for more details.
Can you test it with latest version of JOSM please ?

comment:2 Changed 7 years ago by skyper

Owner: changed from team to tongro
Status: newneedinfo

Changed 7 years ago by tongro

Attachment: josm-screenshot.png added

Exit dialogue v.5241

comment:3 Changed 7 years ago by tongro

That looks much better now, using v.5241.

My test file consists of two layers, one marked as "discourage upload". When I opt to exit the program with pending changes in both layers, the exit dialogue appears, and the options in the "actions to take" column are correct. However, in the "recommended actions" for both layers, both "should be uploaded" and "should be saved" are indicated, which does not match the "discourage upload" settings or the "actions to take" settings. Also (a minor issue) the order of the "recommended actions" (should be saved/uploaded) is the opposite of the "actions to take" options (upload/save), which could cause user error. Screenshot is attached.

The other improvement that seems to be needed is that the enabling of the "discourage upload" option could be made simpler, either integrated into the preferences GUI (though I don't see an obvious place to put it), or maybe enabled by default.

Tony.

Last edited 7 years ago by tongro (previous) (diff)

comment:4 Changed 7 years ago by Don-vip

Owner: changed from tongro to Don-vip
Status: needinfoassigned

comment:5 Changed 7 years ago by Don-vip

Resolution: fixed
Status: assignedclosed

In 5283/josm:

fix #7695 - Ensure the "should be uploaded/saved" panels displayed at JOSM closure aren't mixed up between distinct layers

Modify Ticket

Change Properties
Set your email in Preferences
Action
as closed The owner will remain Don-vip.
as The resolution will be set.
The resolution will be deleted.

Add Comment


E-mail address and name can be saved in the Preferences.

 
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.