Modify

Opened 10 years ago

Closed 10 years ago

#6354 closed enhancement (fixed)

behaviour of "undo" after using the follow-line-function

Reported by: brogo Owned by: team
Priority: normal Milestone:
Component: Core Version: latest
Keywords: Cc: Manchito

Description

The new follow-line-function ist great. But I think it will be more usefull if the undo-function only reverts the last node-selection not the whole F-function.

Attachments (0)

Change History (11)

comment:1 Changed 10 years ago by bastiK

Cc: Manchito added

comment:2 Changed 10 years ago by Manchito

Yes, I considered that and planned to file a ticket about it, so as to discuss the pros and cons. Now we have one :) so let me offer my point of view.

Using the tool, I've found both the options useful in different circumstances. For example, when you accidentally extend the line beyond the required point, the last-node undo comes in handy, but when you've drawn a 800-node line and then realise it was wrong, the full undo is more suitable.

As I have not figured out exactly how to achieve the last-node undo, I decided to let the first version as is. Nevertheless I think the former is a much more common use-case than the latter.

Any suggestions?

comment:3 Changed 10 years ago by skyper

Like move a would like to have only the really last action to undo.

Maybe an extra key/option would be nice to undo the last edits of follow-line and move.

Anyway, you can always use the command list to undo these actions at once.

comment:4 Changed 10 years ago by stoecker

Undo should always undo the last operation block. We can't break that concept for a single use case.

comment:5 Changed 10 years ago by skyper

Why is moving, and moving again the same block ?

Case: I move some objects and then select some more and move again, I have two moves, but if I had forgotten to select the extra objects and moved, I have no possibility to undo and get to the place after the first move.

comment:6 in reply to:  4 Changed 10 years ago by bastiK

Replying to stoecker:

Undo should always undo the last operation block. We can't break that concept for a single use case.

I agree with skyper, Ctrl-Z should undo the very last command. The only exception is a continuous dragging where the whole process between mouse down and mouse up can be considered a single action (although technically, it involves several small move commands).

comment:7 Changed 10 years ago by stoecker

It was this way in the past and reduced the usefulness of undo/redo a lot.

comment:8 Changed 10 years ago by anonymous

Is it only moving or what else is treated as block actions ?

Please provide a opportunity for user to change the behaviour.

The following line function is even more like drawing a line, node by node, and like drawing it should undo node by node.

comment:9 in reply to:  8 Changed 10 years ago by Manchito

Replying to anonymous:

The following line function is even more like drawing a line, node by node, and like drawing it should undo node by node.

That's a good point. I think every action should have the same behaviour no matter if performed manually or with help of a shortcut. Otherwise it would be confusing for the user. Besides, deleting the whole way up to the point of the undo can be very frustrating if the intended action was just to step back one node. One can always just delete the way if it isn't right.

comment:10 in reply to:  8 Changed 10 years ago by skyper

Replying to anonymous:

Is it only moving or what else is treated as block actions ?

Please provide a opportunity for user to change the behaviour.

The following line function is even more like drawing a line, node by node, and like drawing it should undo node by node.

was me.

comment:11 Changed 10 years ago by bastiK

Resolution: fixed
Status: newclosed

In [4091/josm]:

fixed #6354 - behaviour of "undo" after using the follow-line-function

Modify Ticket

Change Properties
Set your email in Preferences
Action
as closed The owner will remain team.
as The resolution will be set.
The resolution will be deleted.

Add Comment


E-mail address and name can be saved in the Preferences.

 
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.