Modify

Opened 11 years ago

Closed 8 years ago

#5669 closed defect (fixed)

Zoom after download is problematic

Reported by: stanton Owned by: team
Priority: normal Milestone:
Component: Core Version:
Keywords: Cc:

Description (last modified by Don-vip)

When downloading an area, JOSM will automatically zoom to it.

When downloading a single relation through the remote control plugin, using a link (e.g. http://localhost:8111/import?url=http://api.openstreetmap.org/api/0.6/relation/1274563), JOSM will zoom all the way out (such that the whole world will fit into the window).

When a WMS layer is active and visible, this behavior causes JOSM to freeze. Switching the WMS layer to invisible will prevent this behavior.

On a side note, this auto-zoom behavior is not always desirable anyway (can get annoying when downloading an additional area while editing).

I would suggest making the zoom behavior configurable:

  • A check box in the download dialog (Zoom to selected area after download)
  • A check box to enable/disable zoom on areas downloaded via Remote Control, possibly dependent on object downloaded (e.g. zoom on ways but not on relations and not on points)
  • Do not zoom out if download area is larger than user-configurable threshold

I'm tagging component as "unspecified" as it may affect multiple components (Plugin remote control, core, possibly plugin WMS)

Attachments (0)

Change History (3)

comment:1 Changed 11 years ago by 9a4gl

This behavior is also a problem to me. I expect that import will zoom to loaded object exactly as File -> Donwload object (CTRL+SHIFT+O) does. Guess this should not be a problem since the while functionality exists. For me, always when I import a object using this feaure I am zoomed/panned to Atlantic ocean at coordinate 0,0.

comment:2 Changed 11 years ago by skyper

Component: unspecifiedCore

Think that would be a nice enhancement.

Since all components are in core right now I change it.

comment:3 Changed 8 years ago by Don-vip

Description: modified (diff)
Resolution: fixed
Status: newclosed

Modify Ticket

Change Properties
Set your email in Preferences
Action
as closed The owner will remain team.
as The resolution will be set.
The resolution will be deleted.

Add Comment


E-mail address and name can be saved in the Preferences.

 
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.