Modify

Opened 12 years ago

Closed 10 years ago

Last modified 10 years ago

#4553 closed enhancement (duplicate)

Transitional Warning Message Window (was: Give warning when executing "Join Node to Way" with selection != 1 node)

Reported by: avarab@… Owned by: team
Priority: normal Milestone:
Component: Core Version: latest
Keywords: Cc:

Description (last modified by simon04)

When I select a way and a node and do "Join Node to Way" JOSM does nothing. Instead it should warn that I should just select a node.

Actually it should probably support this case and join a node to the selected way.

Attachments (0)

Change History (5)

comment:1 Changed 12 years ago by mjulius

A transitional message window that looks pretty much like a tooltip and shows up near the top or bottom of the screen would be perfect for these kind of warnings. It should have a little bigger font, come up without getting input focus, be transparent to mouse clicks, and disappear after, say, 5 sec.

Those messages that you have to click on or hit enter to make them go away can be annoying.

comment:2 Changed 11 years ago by thomie

+1

To anyone reading this: to join a node from a way to another nearby way:

  • select node
  • select 'Join node to way'

Do not select either of the 2 ways.

comment:3 in reply to:  description ; Changed 10 years ago by simon04

Summary: Give warning when executing "Join Node to Way" with selection != 1 nodeTransitional Warning Message Window (was: Give warning when executing "Join Node to Way" with selection != 1 node)
Type: defectenhancement

Replying to avar:

When I select a way and a node and do "Join Node to Way" JOSM does nothing.

Seems to be fixed in the meanwhile (see #5590).

Keeping ticket open for implementing the suggested transitional warning message window.

comment:4 in reply to:  3 Changed 10 years ago by simon04

Description: modified (diff)
Resolution: duplicate
Status: newclosed

Replying to simon04:

Keeping ticket open for implementing the suggested transitional warning message window.

To be discussed in the other ticket …

comment:5 Changed 10 years ago by simon04

Closed as duplicate of #6963.

Modify Ticket

Change Properties
Set your email in Preferences
Action
as closed The owner will remain team.
as The resolution will be set.
The resolution will be deleted.

Add Comment


E-mail address and name can be saved in the Preferences.

 
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.