Modify

Opened 12 years ago

Closed 12 years ago

#4011 closed enhancement (fixed)

[Patch] Validator: Fix action done in case of "Don't show again"

Reported by: Nakor Owned by: team
Priority: normal Milestone:
Component: Core Version:
Keywords: Cc:

Description

If you try to fix "Duplicate nodes error" with validator plugin with nodes outside of your downloaded areas, a warning message will popup. If you check "Do not ask me anymore" and click "No" (meaning you do NOT want to delete those nodes), validator will still delete them. Then when you try to upload you get a lot of warnings.

Attachments (1)

ConfirmationDialog.patch (2.8 KB) - added by mjulius 12 years ago.

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (9)

comment:1 Changed 12 years ago by Nakor

Also it looks like the choice of not asking anymore is stored permanently with now option to deactivate it. Even deinstalling and reinstalling the plugin does not reset the choice. Please provide an option to do so.

comment:2 Changed 12 years ago by mjulius

The corresponding setting is message.delete_outside_nodes which you can find in the Advanced Preferences (bottom tab in the Preferences dialog). This is set to "false" when you check that check box in the confirmation dialog. In this case the dialog is not shown anymore and the default action is chosen (which is to delete the nodes) regardless whether you selected Yes or No in the dialog.

Delete the setting or set it to "true" to get the dialog back.

comment:3 Changed 12 years ago by Nakor

Type: defectenhancement

Thanks for telling me how to get back that check.

It would also be nice to have an option to never modify nodes outside of the download zone.

Thanks, N.

comment:4 Changed 12 years ago by stoecker

Resolution: wontfix
Status: newclosed

IN JOSM we let user decide and warn him of possible dangerous actions. When he decides to ignore the warnings, then it's his fault.

comment:5 Changed 12 years ago by mjulius

Resolution: wontfix
Status: closedreopened

The dialog in question here is not merely a warning. It is a question whether or not he wants to delete nodes outside the download area (among other nodes). This is a decision the user has to make and not just a warning to acknowledge. I think it is perfectly reasonable for the user to expect that his decision will be applied in future if he checks the "Do not show again" checkbox.

This is the scenario here: The user downloads an area and ends up with duplicate nodes outside the download bbox. Then, without selecting anything he clicks on Validate. Validator now lists a bunch of nodes as duplicates - some of which are inside and some of which are outside the download area. There is no easy way to tell.

When the user then highlights the Duplicate nodes error category ind clicks on Fix the here discussed dialog pops up telling the user that he is about to delete some nodes outside the download area and asks whether he wants to delete them. The user - knowing how dangerous that is - clicks on No and validator ignores that node and moves on. When it encounters the next node outside the bbox the dialog pops up again. After the 20th time the user gets tired of this and checks "Do not show again" and klicks No. The user expects that from now on will leave those outside nodes alone without bothering him ever again. And I would call this expectation very reasonable. Instead, validator now deletes all nodes regardless where they are.

This is not a case of ignorance on the user's side.

comment:6 Changed 12 years ago by stoecker

Component: Core validatorCore
Status: reopenednew
Summary: validator plugin deletes nodes outside of downloaded zoneValidator: Fix action done in case of "Don't show again"

Probably this also affects other "Don't show me agains" in JOSM?

Changed 12 years ago by mjulius

Attachment: ConfirmationDialog.patch added

comment:7 in reply to:  6 Changed 12 years ago by mjulius

Summary: Validator: Fix action done in case of "Don't show again"[Patch] Validator: Fix action done in case of "Don't show again"

Replying to stoecker:

Probably this also affects other "Don't show me agains" in JOSM?

I think so. I was just about to assign the ticket to Core myself.

The attached patch should fix that.

comment:8 Changed 12 years ago by stoecker

Resolution: fixed
Status: newclosed

(In [2522]) fix #4011 - do not show again now remembers what it should do - patch by mjulius

Modify Ticket

Change Properties
Set your email in Preferences
Action
as closed The owner will remain team.
as The resolution will be set.
The resolution will be deleted.

Add Comment


E-mail address and name can be saved in the Preferences.

 
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.