Modify

Opened 13 years ago

Last modified 13 years ago

#3888 reopened enhancement

Save layer doesn't update title bar

Reported by: Ldp Owned by: team
Priority: minor Milestone:
Component: Core Version:
Keywords: Cc:

Description

After modifying a layer, an asterisk (*) appears in the title bar. If the layer is saved, the asterisk doesn't disappear. Doing a "Save as" does remove the asterisk.

Attachments (0)

Change History (4)

comment:1 Changed 13 years ago by Gubaer

Resolution: worksforme
Status: newclosed

Can't reproduce. The (*) appears if either the layer should be saved to a file or if it should be uploaded to the server.

If you have new data in a layer and save to a file (with save or save as) the (*) remains because the data should still be uploaded to the server.

If you have new data in the layer, upload to the server and then save (with save or save as) the (*) disappears.

Please reopen if you have more specific info about a sequence of actions which doesn't work.

comment:2 Changed 13 years ago by Ldp

Resolution: worksforme
Status: closedreopened
Type: defectenhancement

Oh, the asterisk also denoted upload status? Didn't know that. Then why did it disappear when I 'Save as' and not when I 'Save'?

May I suggest to split it into two markers? One to show that there are things to upload, and another that the layer hasn't been saved to a file?

My specific case is that I have .osm files which were generated with polyshp2osm.py, with data that can be imported. I only select a small extent of objects, which I then merge into a layer with live OSM data, to upload from there. If I then want to update my local .osm which is loaded in the other layer, to remove already uploaded objects, the {*} remains, and I have to look at the timestamp of the file to see if it was really saved.

comment:3 Changed 13 years ago by Ldp

I would even propose to have a per-layer upload/save status in the Layer window, instead of a global one in the title bar. This way it would be much easier to see which of your open layers hasn't been uploaded or saved (two status indicators per layer).

You said the "data should still be uploaded to the server". I can think of circumstances where this simply is not true. Not everything I open in JOSM is ready for upload. I even encountered a few times where I did ctrl-s on a layer, only to later find out the hard way it wasn't really saved, because I was too quick with the key press after doing a major operation which "hadn't quite finished yet but appeared to have".

comment:4 Changed 13 years ago by Ldp

Making new attempt to have layer status flags in the layers dialog, instead of the title bar. When working with a few layers, it's pretty handy to quickly see the state each layer is in, from a few choices: saved/not saved, changes to upload/all uploaded, and even (from #4043) upload enabled/prohibited. The Photoshop layers dialog is a good example of how this could work, with a few symbols at the start of the layer row.

Also, if I upload everything from a layer, but do not save it, it never asks me to save it when I close the layer.

Modify Ticket

Change Properties
Set your email in Preferences
Action
as reopened The owner will remain team.
as The resolution will be set.
to The owner will be changed from team to the specified user.
The owner will change to Ldp
as duplicate The resolution will be set to duplicate.The specified ticket will be cross-referenced with this ticket

Add Comment


E-mail address and name can be saved in the Preferences.

 
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.