Modify

Opened 7 weeks ago

Last modified 7 weeks ago

#21616 new enhancement

RFC: If a relation has wikidata tag hinder deletion of relation

Reported by: katpatuka Owned by: team
Priority: normal Milestone:
Component: Core Version:
Keywords: delete relation wikidata Cc: email@…

Description

Case: someone removed all but two members of D300 highway route in Turkey (https://www.wikidata.org/wiki/Q7603864) but at least the relation hadn't been deleted.

So I got the idea: if a relation would have been deleted too it would have been much more difficult to rollback the deletion and/or recreate a new relation with the original members. But if relations would be connected via wikidata item a error msg or at least a warning msg could popup hindering the easy deletion of relations.

Attachments (0)

Change History (4)

comment:1 Changed 7 weeks ago by gaben

If it's

  • intentional, then removing the wiki tag bypasses the check
  • unintentional, then use reverter plugin, but in all cases look for deleted relations in the upload dialog.

comment:2 Changed 7 weeks ago by GerdP

JOSM already warns when you delete a relation, no matter what tags it has.

comment:3 Changed 7 weeks ago by katpatuka

But if a wikidata item additionally has the reverse statement OpenStreetMap relation ID (Property:P402) set, which implements a more important connection between OSM and WD/WP, it should IMHO be made more difficult to delete that relation.

comment:4 Changed 7 weeks ago by GerdP

I've no idea why JOSM (or any other editor) should treat such a relation (or any other OSM object) special. If there is a good reason to delete a relation why should it matter if it has a wikidata tag or wikidata refers to it?
Users have deleted all kinds of objects in the past. It is expected that an important object will be restored soon enough.

Modify Ticket

Change Properties
Set your email in Preferences
Action
as new The owner will remain team.
as The resolution will be set.
to The owner will be changed from team to the specified user.
The owner will change to katpatuka
as duplicate The resolution will be set to duplicate.The specified ticket will be cross-referenced with this ticket
The owner will be changed from team to anonymous.

Add Comment


E-mail address and name can be saved in the Preferences.

 
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.