Modify

Opened 22 months ago

Closed 22 months ago

Last modified 15 months ago

#16685 closed enhancement (wontfix)

download automatically when splitting a way

Reported by: Polyglot Owned by: team
Priority: normal Milestone:
Component: Core Version:
Keywords: way splitter, automatic download Cc:

Description

Splitting a way when not all data is downloaded isn't the best practice (it will most likely break relations that weren't downloaded). Wouldn't it be possible to always download a small area around the nodes selected for splitting if they are in an area that is not downloaded yet and provided there is internet access?

Not sure if this should be reserved to expert mode.

Attachments (0)

Change History (5)

comment:1 Changed 22 months ago by stoecker

Resolution: wontfix
Status: newclosed

No. It is not planned to increase the amount of automatic network access.

comment:2 Changed 16 months ago by Phyks <phyks+josm@…>

Hi,

I was about to post the same ticket, as I recently encountered the issue. I get the point in not increasing amount of automatic network access, but the issue described is a super easy mistake to make the first time you use JOSM in this way.

I'm not sure, but couldn't it be feasible to display a dismissible warning "you are about to split a way but not all data were downloaded" in such a case?

Thanks,

comment:3 Changed 15 months ago by GerdP

I am not sure if that is possible but I think JOSM should refuse to split ways when data is not complete.
If we can detect that this is the case we might also show a popup with a text like "Data is incomplete, download?"
and a "don't ask me again" checkbox.

comment:5 in reply to:  3 Changed 15 months ago by stoecker

Replying to GerdP:

I am not sure if that is possible but I think JOSM should refuse to split ways when data is not complete.
If we can detect that this is the case we might also show a popup with a text like "Data is incomplete, download?"
and a "don't ask me again" checkbox.

JOSM already warns when you work outside download area. This ticket is only relevant when you use JOSM in a non-standard way.

Modify Ticket

Change Properties
Set your email in Preferences
Action
as closed The owner will remain team.
as The resolution will be set.
The resolution will be deleted.

Add Comment


E-mail address and name can be saved in the Preferences.

 
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.