Modify

Opened 3 years ago

Closed 4 weeks ago

Last modified 4 weeks ago

#14701 closed enhancement (fixed)

[Patch] Copying relations needs Yes/No confirmation

Reported by: mboeringa Owned by: simon04
Priority: normal Milestone: 20.06
Component: Core Version:
Keywords: relation duplicate confirmation Cc:

Description

This is an enhancement request based on my own and others experience and also documented in Jochen Topf's issue tracker concerning the multipolygon fixing effort (see https://github.com/osmlab/fixing-polygons-in-osm/issues/29).

The problem is that it is to easy to accidentally copy relations, and this happens especially with multipolygon relations where novice JOSM users attempt to add new members. As a consequence, multiple stacked multipolygons are created, with sometimes more than a dozen copies having different counts of member ways. This is undesirable and difficult to clean up.

What likely happens is that instead of choosing "Modify relation", users accidentally click "Copy relation". This buttons sits right next to the button for modifying a relation. This means that if people accidentally hit it while intending to modify an existing relation, they may create a new relation without even knowing it, as it will have all the members and properties of the original and thus appear as the original to be modified. When they subsequently upload the changes, they will have created a copy instead of having modified the original.

It would be good if JOSM somehow warned for this type of (accidental) misusage in the interface.

I therefor propose an absolute minimal change to JOSM that is likely to minimize to chance of this happening accidentally: add a blocking modal dialog with the question

"Are you sure you want to copy an existing relation? Yes/No".

to the "Copy relation" button before opening the relation editor. This will make novice users aware of the fact they are copying an existing relation instead of modifying it.

Attachments (2)

2019-01-12-180907_459x217_scrot.png (10.0 KB) - added by simon04 18 months ago.
14701.patch (2.4 KB) - added by simon04 18 months ago.

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (17)

comment:1 Changed 3 years ago by stoecker

Milestone: 17.05

comment:2 Changed 3 years ago by Don-vip

Milestone: 17.0517.06

comment:3 Changed 3 years ago by Don-vip

Milestone: 17.0617.07

comment:4 Changed 3 years ago by Don-vip

Milestone: 17.07

Changed 18 months ago by simon04

Changed 18 months ago by simon04

Attachment: 14701.patch added

comment:5 Changed 18 months ago by simon04

Milestone: 19.01
Owner: changed from team to simon04
Status: newassigned
Summary: Copying relations needs Yes/No confirmation[Patch] Copying relations needs Yes/No confirmation

Maybe restrict to type=multipolygon?


comment:6 Changed 18 months ago by simon04

Keywords: relation duplicate confirmation added

comment:7 Changed 18 months ago by simon04

Milestone: 19.0119.02

Discussion needed, new i18n strings involved → 19.02

comment:8 Changed 17 months ago by Don-vip

Milestone: 19.0219.03

comment:9 Changed 16 months ago by GerdP

Last edited 16 months ago by GerdP (previous) (diff)

comment:10 Changed 15 months ago by Don-vip

Milestone: 19.0319.04

comment:11 Changed 14 months ago by Don-vip

Milestone: 19.0419.05

comment:12 Changed 14 months ago by Don-vip

Milestone: 19.05

comment:13 in reply to:  5 Changed 5 months ago by skyper

Replying to simon04:

Maybe restrict to type=multipolygon?

As user I would simply disable this warning. Do not see any reason why this is not needed for other types as the fault is the same, duplicating instead of adding members. Anyway, there is a validator warning about relations with the same members.

comment:14 Changed 4 weeks ago by simon04

Resolution: fixed
Status: assignedclosed

In 16561/josm:

fix #14701 - Confirm relation duplicate

comment:15 Changed 4 weeks ago by simon04

Milestone: 20.06

Modify Ticket

Change Properties
Set your email in Preferences
Action
as closed The owner will remain simon04.
as The resolution will be set.
The resolution will be deleted.

Add Comment


E-mail address and name can be saved in the Preferences.

 
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.