Modify

Opened 7 years ago

Last modified 5 months ago

#5335 new defect

conflict resolution cannot resolve multiple objects at once

Reported by: bilbo Owned by: team
Priority: major Milestone:
Component: Core Version: latest
Keywords: Cc: joshdoe

Description (last modified by jaakkoh)

I once ended up with about 9000 conflicts - most of them were caused by someone deleting the primitive (node or way) on server. But when I tried to resolve the conflicts by forcing "not deleted" state for all such objects, I found out, that you can work only on one node at once - even if you select more nodes in the conflict panel and press "resolve", the dialog will ask only about one - so for resolving all the conflicts you need about 18000 clicks.

Some way for the conflict dialog to work with multiple nodes wouild be necessary. Current state where it can work on only one primitive at a time is unuseable.

Attachments (0)

Change History (7)

comment:1 Changed 7 years ago by anonymous

I'd like to second this, I had a similar problem except I had 19,000 conflicts, which were only fixable one at a time. They were all entirely down to a failed (and reverted) upload and not edits from anyone else. I have given up trying to upload the data, which is a shame. I simply can't face doing everything again, which is what it would take. I'm certainly not going to click on 'keep my version' 19,000 times. It's not the first time I've ended up with thousands of conflicts due to failed uploads.

This is massively frustrating, all I want is to be able to select all conflicts and click 'keep my version'! There must be some way to do this.

comment:2 Changed 7 years ago by joshdoe

Cc: joshdoe added

A right click option with "Resolve using mine" and "Resolve using theirs" would be great, and parallels version control systems.

comment:3 Changed 7 years ago by stoecker

"all I want is to be able to select all conflicts and click 'keep my version'"

Exactly this is what we don't want. Essentially that means to ignore the work of others and overwrite their work. In this case the current form which prevents you (who comes later than the server changes) from uploading at all is better.

comment:4 Changed 7 years ago by skyper

Please, group the conflict in a better way.

I you move a way (many nodes) and someone else meanwhile delete all created_by=JOSM, you will get a conflict for every node. It would be nice to have the nodes all listed together and if selected get a info that the conflicts are of the same kind (my=change position; their=same tag edits). Then it would be possible to use the solution once for some conflicts instead of just one after the other.

Objects which are deleted on either side would be also an interesting group, but be aware of #4654.

comment:5 in reply to:  2 Changed 6 years ago by jaakkoh

Description: modified (diff)

Replying to joshdoe:

A right click option with "Resolve using mine" and "Resolve using theirs" would be great, and parallels version control systems.

+100 -- to "Resolve using theirs"

As stoecker points having an (easy) option (available to anyone, I would add) would undermine what the whole conflict resolution aims at.

Having said that -- since there are enough many _and_ recurring real life cases where all of the server data should be over written I see a case for having such option for admins or some other "conflict resolution specialists".

I've only had a maximum of about a 1000 conflicts to click through at most so it seems that I can just feel the pain an frustration of others and thank that I haven't had more. .. But since my biggest conflict issues have been caused by f*ckers who've messed up (dirty revert stuff) and I've wasted a few evenings/nights with those I will re-iterate that I think that it would be _really_ good if the project had Someone or Some Group of people that could run over the db with a given data set.

So, two things:
1) I think there should be an option to give up all of one's conflicted edits in favor of the data on the server. .. There have been some cases where I haven't bothered to upload my edits at all because I haven't had the patience to run "their version" over mine (.. I currently have 136 cases left in my JOSM, will do that this time).
2) It would be just as good to have Someone (publicly appointed) who mappers could contact to persuade to run server data over with their data.

Thoughts?

Last edited 6 years ago by jaakkoh (previous) (diff)

comment:6 Changed 3 years ago by naoliv

Got "hit" by this too, with some 170 conflicts (510 clicks)

comment:7 Changed 5 months ago by Victor

Same problem here, maybe enable mass resolving it only if there are more than 50 changes to avoid lazy overriding.

Modify Ticket

Change Properties
Set your email in Preferences
Action
as new The owner will remain team.
as The resolution will be set.
to The owner will be changed from team to the specified user.
The owner will change to bilbo
as duplicate The resolution will be set to duplicate.The specified ticket will be cross-referenced with this ticket
The owner will be changed from team to anonymous.

Add Comment


E-mail address and name can be saved in the Preferences.

 
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.