Modify

Opened 8 years ago

Last modified 6 years ago

#4654 new defect

warning when deleting an object with remaining conflict

Reported by: skyper Owned by: team
Priority: critical Milestone:
Component: Core Version: latest
Keywords: conflict delete Cc: skyper, bastiK

Description (last modified by skyper)

This is not a bug itself but the way JOSM works right now is dangerous and it is quite frustrating solving conflicts.

I have a conflict of elements with a way. This leads to have a node without connection nor tag on the active layer.

I delete this node because its "lonely" and I get no information about the pending conflict.
Yes, I should not have edited while there exists any conflicts, but this can also happen while solving conflicts on nodes with a pending conflict of elements of a way.

I am not able to restore this object (way) as it was if I have delete an element and restoring the element itself can take quit some time if you have to undo 50 conflict solutions and later manually redo them because of #4608.

version 2057

Thanks a lot skyper

Attachments (0)

Change History (4)

comment:1 in reply to:  description Changed 8 years ago by skyper

Replying to skyper:

version 2057

sorry, version 3057

comment:2 Changed 8 years ago by skyper

Priority: criticalblocker

As deleting objects with conflict on leads to inconsistant data -> exceptions, I think we have to do something against it.

A warning might not be enough.

r3107

comment:3 Changed 8 years ago by skyper

Priority: blockercritical

comment:4 in reply to:  2 Changed 6 years ago by skyper

Cc: bastiK added
Description: modified (diff)

Replying to skyper:

As deleting objects with conflict on leads to inconsistant data -> exceptions, I think we have to do something against it.

I think this is one reason why it was impossible to merge two offline edited osm file with partly same objects (for example route relations but a single way might be enough).

@bastiK:
On way to get inconsistant data.

A warning might not be enough.

Still no warning.

Last edited 6 years ago by skyper (previous) (diff)

Modify Ticket

Change Properties
Set your email in Preferences
Action
as new The owner will remain team.
as The resolution will be set.
to The owner will be changed from team to the specified user.
The owner will change to skyper
as duplicate The resolution will be set to duplicate.The specified ticket will be cross-referenced with this ticket
The owner will be changed from team to anonymous.

Add Comment


E-mail address and name can be saved in the Preferences.

 
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.