Modify

Opened 8 years ago

Closed 6 years ago

#6568 closed defect (duplicate)

Undeleted way can't be saved

Reported by: ghia Owned by: Nakor
Priority: normal Milestone:
Component: Plugin undelete Version:
Keywords: Cc:

Description (last modified by Don-vip)

When I undeleted a way, it appeared back.
http://www.openstreetmap.org/browse/way/39352097
But when I tried to save, The way was first in the list and then the 4 points.
When saving this failed because the way needed the waypoints which were still deleted in the database.
I added then first the points, but with the road, it did not work out, maybe I had to save them first.
Anyway it is not feasable to do this when many points were deleted.
The undeletion should first add in the modification dataset for OSM the recovered undeleted points and then the roads that make use of it (and then the relations, ...), respecting the order for building it again up in the database.

Also the undeletion is not added to the command history and can not be undone from there.


Attachments (0)

Change History (2)

comment:1 Changed 8 years ago by Oli-Wan

I'm not sure whether ghia's remarks really clarify the problem, so here's another explanation:

JOSM usually uploads first nodes, then ways. This way, all ways' dependencies on nodes are automatically resolved and there can be no request to create a way which depends on non-existent nodes.

Unfortunately, this does not work after undelete-ing a way using the undelete plugin. The nodes which the way consists of are recreated in the editor as well, but they are not uploaded before the way as they should, which provokes strange warnings from the server. Probably the same problem exists when undelete-ing relation.

To anyone who is struggling with this problem as well: try the following workaround for the time being.
Make your changes, undelete what you need to undelete. Mark all modified nodes in the editor using JOSM's search function and the string "modified type:node" (excluding quotation marks). Then, upload only these nodes ("Upload selection"). In a second step, upload the remaining objects in the usual fashion ("Upload"). You may want to keep your changeset open after the first upload as to put all your edits in one changeset. (For recreating relations, modify the procedure accordingly: first nodes, then ways, then all else - i.e., relations.)

comment:2 Changed 6 years ago by Don-vip

Description: modified (diff)
Resolution: duplicate
Status: newclosed

Closed as duplicate of #7116.

Modify Ticket

Change Properties
Set your email in Preferences
Action
as closed The owner will remain Nakor.
as The resolution will be set.
The resolution will be deleted.

Add Comment


E-mail address and name can be saved in the Preferences.

 
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.