Modify

Opened 15 months ago

Last modified 15 months ago

#22665 new defect

Conflict resolver has my/theirs wrongly assigned

Reported by: DoubleA Owned by: team
Priority: normal Milestone:
Component: Core Version:
Keywords: relation editor conflict version name Cc:

Description

When I get a conflict when editing a relation, the conflicting data is wrongly assigned in the UI.
The tags and members of the version are switched, i.e. My version is in fact theirs and vice versa.

Highly confusing and if one just uses "My version" all the work is lost.

To reproduce:

  • download object of type relation (111111 works fine)
  • open relation editor
  • change one of the members on the map: split a way, move a node (while relation editor is open)
  • modify the members of the relation (remove a member), change a tag
  • close the relation editor, now a conflict is created
  • resolve the conflict

Observed:

  • Members for "My version" contains original data, "Their version" contains my modified data
  • Tags for "My version" contains original data, "Their version" contains my modified data

Attachments (0)

Change History (3)

comment:1 by skyper, 15 months ago

Keywords: relation editor conflict version name added
Version: latest

Well, in fact both sides are your changes. One is the current relation editor version and the other is the current data layer version. It would probably make more sense to name it accordingly, like relation editor and name of the data layer. Similar happens if you merge layers or objects. There it would be useful to show the layer name on both sides.

comment:2 by taylor.smock, 15 months ago

As a side note, often using My version or Their version is the wrong thing to do, if you just click 'OK' afterwards.

We really need to rework the conflicts so that data breaks less often, so something like "Keep non-conflicting".

comment:3 by skyper, 15 months ago

I recheck and the sides are correct as My version is always the current data layer version. I have added some more words to the wiki page to clarify the situation (diff).

Modify Ticket

Change Properties
Set your email in Preferences
Action
as new The owner will remain team.
as The resolution will be set. Next status will be 'closed'.
to The owner will be changed from team to the specified user.
Next status will be 'needinfo'. The owner will be changed from team to DoubleA.
as duplicate The resolution will be set to duplicate. Next status will be 'closed'. The specified ticket will be cross-referenced with this ticket.
The owner will be changed from team to anonymous. Next status will be 'assigned'.

Add Comment


E-mail address and name can be saved in the Preferences .
 
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.