Modify

Opened 13 years ago

Closed 12 years ago

Last modified 12 years ago

#1425 closed enhancement (fixed)

JOSM exit;unsaved changes dialog

Reported by: sascha-web-josm.openstreetmap.de@… Owned by: xeen
Priority: minor Milestone:
Component: Core Version: latest
Keywords: Cc: none

Description

On exiting without saving JOSM asks "There are unsaved changes. Discard the changes and continue?", giving Yes and No as options. This is highly dangerous, as several other applications use similar dialogs, but some of them with negated options ("Save before exiting?").
A better way to handle it is to name the buttons according to their result, like Gimp does:

Save the changes to image 'Untitled' before closing?
If you don't save the image, changes from the last XX seconds will be lost.

![Don't save] ![Cancel] ![Save]

While giving the last modification time is useful to determine if the last change was accidental or intentional, it's not absolutely necessary.
The following text might suit JOSM:

You have made changes since you last saved or uploaded. If you exit without saving, these changes will be lost forever.

![Save locally] ![Discard changes] ![Don't exit]

I haven't worked with Swing before (only SWT), so no patch, sorry.

Attachments (1)

MakeExitDialogLessHazardous (default to save).patch (2.7 KB) - added by xeen 12 years ago.
Same as above but with Save and Exit actions switched

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (5)

comment:1 Changed 12 years ago by Hasienda

Keywords: JOSM exit unsaved changes dialog added

consider a recent, duplicate ticket #1770, that proposes three buttons:

<Save then quit> <Quit without saving> <Cancel>

comment:27 Changed 12 years ago by xeen

Owner: changed from framm to xeen

This patch is on top of #1977 and adds the possibility to save changes before exiting. On a second thought it should be better to make "save" the default action though as proposed above.

Changed 12 years ago by xeen

Same as above but with Save and Exit actions switched

comment:28 Changed 12 years ago by anonymous

Resolution: fixed
Status: newclosed

Fixed in r1373.

comment:29 Changed 12 years ago by stoecker

Component: Internal mappaint styleCore
Keywords: 01836359 removed
Summary: generic prevacidJOSM exit;unsaved changes dialog

Modify Ticket

Change Properties
Set your email in Preferences
Action
as closed The owner will remain xeen.
as The resolution will be set.
The resolution will be deleted.

Add Comment


E-mail address and name can be saved in the Preferences.

 
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.