Modify

Opened 5 years ago

Closed 8 weeks ago

Last modified 8 weeks ago

#12484 closed enhancement (fixed)

harmonize warning message with button caption

Reported by: kolesar Owned by: team
Priority: normal Milestone: 20.08
Component: Core Version: tested
Keywords: Cc:

Description

What steps will reproduce the problem?

  1. Open preferences, set expert mode.
  2. Switch to Einstein preferences.
  3. Press Reset button.

What is the expected result?

Something will be reseted.

What happens instead?

Warning message: "Please select the row to delete." Delete??? I wanted to reset something, not delete.

Please provide any additional information below. Attach a screenshot if possible.

I understand that preferences file stores overridden settings only and reset means deleting the corresponding override from preferences file. Users may be confused with reset / delete.

Attached patch that modifies message to "Please select the row to reset.".

Question: Is it the best way to leave a button enabled and show a warning message if pressed in a situation where it is not applicable? I think disabling Reset button would be better until a row is selected. Tooltip message can help user what will enable this button.

What do you think? (This button is marginal, question scope is global.)

Attachments (1)

PreferencesResetWarningMessage.patch (763 bytes) - added by kolesar 5 years ago.

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (5)

Changed 5 years ago by kolesar

comment:1 Changed 5 years ago by bastiK

In general, if a button is not applicable, it should be disabled. There may be reasons to deviate from this rules, but not in this case.

comment:2 Changed 4 years ago by bastiK

Summary: [patch] harmonize warning message with button captionharmonize warning message with button caption

Patch needs rework.

comment:3 Changed 8 weeks ago by simon04

Resolution: fixed
Status: newclosed

In 16844/josm:

fix #12484 - Disable inappropriate AdvancedPreference actions

Edit requires exactly one selected row.
Reset requires at least one selected row.

comment:4 Changed 8 weeks ago by simon04

Milestone: 20.08

Modify Ticket

Change Properties
Set your email in Preferences
Action
as closed The owner will remain team.
as The resolution will be set.
The resolution will be deleted.

Add Comment


E-mail address and name can be saved in the Preferences.

 
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.