|Version 4 (modified by skyper, 2 years ago) (diff)|
Edit > Purge…
The purge action cleans up your data layer by removing the selected objects from the layer. However, in contrast to the delete action, they will not be deleted on the server when you upload your changes.
It is, as if JOSM completely forgets about these objects and they never had been downloaded.
When you purge a node of a way, that way cannot exist without its nodes, so it has to be purged as well. JOSM will give a warning in this case and lets you inspect the objects that need to be purged in addition to the original selection.
The same holds, if you like to purge a new object (id:0) that is member of a relation. Members with a positive id can be purged without affecting the relation relation. Their status will be incomplete after purging.
If you get this warning, you can safely proceed, but be aware that more objects are purged, than originally selected.
If you purge modified objects, these edits are lost. This can be intended, but you will get a warning in this case.
Clear Undo/Redo buffer
This option is supposed to free resources (memory). But don't rely on it (yet). If you are short of memory, it is still the best option to save the (partially purged) layer and reopen it in another instance of JOSM.