Modify

Opened 8 years ago

Last modified 2 years ago

#3746 new enhancement

Allow reverting objects to previous state in history dialog

Reported by: bilbo Owned by: team
Priority: normal Milestone:
Component: Core Version: latest
Keywords: revert history dialog Cc: skyper, naoliv

Description (last modified by maizzerna)

In Potlatch, you can press 'h' to see history of way and revert the way to previous version. In JOSM you can see history of way - with all its tags and list of nodes, but it have two drawbacks:

  • You see list of node in a table, which does not give you much idea about where the way is/was in the map.
  • You can't revert the way to previous version.

It could be nice to have some "revert" button when viewing each revision in JOSM, that will revert way and all its nodes to some previous state (given specific date/time or version of way).

History of all nodes in that way can be retrieved and then all nodes can be reverted, if they had different coordinate/tags at the given time.

This may also serve as the preview in worst case - you can revert the way to see the shape it had in the past and then just press CTRL+Z to undo the revert.

Attachments (0)

Change History (9)

comment:1 Changed 4 years ago by maizzerna

Description: modified (diff)

let me note: Potlatch1 seems to be meant here (2009/10/19). A first version of Potlatch2 was released somehow at 2009/11/30 and I could not find such a revert feature in Potlatch2's history view.

comment:2 Changed 4 years ago by stoecker

There is a reverter plugin for reverts.

comment:3 Changed 4 years ago by simon04

For Potlatch1's U command, see also #3512. Maybe we can close this ticket as duplicate?

comment:4 Changed 4 years ago by maizzerna

stoecker: yes, and it works good. Maybe using it could be made more directly accessible from the history view? Currently you need to copy the changeset number, and open it manually. But I think making this more direct would be quite difficult more make it correct. At least such a feature like "revert this way to this version and also revert all nodes to their state at this time" would be hard/dangerous. This is what is apparently done with the Potlatch1 history revert. This makes it really easy to inspect a old version of a way, nearly "historic OSM". But I think in today's practice this would often create dozens of conflicts/issues if nodes are used by more than one way.

Maybe just offering a option in the history view (not via reverter plugin) to see (maybe in a new layer) an old way layout (old node positions) would be useful and less a problem.

simon: the undelete feature seems to be something different - it allows you to undelete way of which you do not even know the id (which is needed for JOSM's undel feature).

comment:5 in reply to:  4 Changed 4 years ago by stoecker

Replying to maizzerna:

Maybe just offering a option in the history view (not via reverter plugin) to see (maybe in a new layer) an old way layout (old node positions) would be useful and less a problem.

We would need to use the main map display for a subset of data to do so. While this is already planned for a long time and many steps have been done to separate components, so this gets possible at all, it still is a long way to go. And currently nobody goes this way.

comment:6 Changed 3 years ago by Don-vip

Keywords: revert history dialog added
Summary: Allow reverting way to previous state in historyAllow reverting objects to previous state in history dialog

comment:7 Changed 3 years ago by Don-vip

Ticket #3627 has been marked as a duplicate of this ticket.

comment:8 Changed 3 years ago by skyper

Cc: skyper added

comment:9 Changed 2 years ago by naoliv

Cc: naoliv added

Modify Ticket

Change Properties
Set your email in Preferences
Action
as new The owner will remain team.
as The resolution will be set.
to The owner will be changed from team to the specified user.
The owner will change to bilbo
as duplicate The resolution will be set to duplicate.The specified ticket will be cross-referenced with this ticket
The owner will be changed from team to anonymous.

Add Comment


E-mail address and name can be saved in the Preferences.

 
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.