Modify

Opened 5 months ago

Closed 5 months ago

Last modified 3 months ago

#14877 closed enhancement (fixed)

make projection setting transient

Reported by: bastiK Owned by: team
Priority: normal Milestone: 17.06
Component: Core Version:
Keywords: projection Cc:

Description

It happens that users change the projection once (e.g. to WGS84), then forget about it and are unaware they are using a projection that is unsuitable for mapping (e.g. #14799). This is much easier, now that background imagery is silently reprojected.

I suggest to save the projection only for the duration of the current session and reset the projection to Mercator when JOSM is restarted. In addition I would add a button "Set as default" for advanced users to make the projection change permanent.

An added advantage would be, that we can safe the projection settings in the .jos session file. Then it would be natural that projection is changed when session is opened (and possibly reset when closed).

Attachments (1)

projection-default.patch (5.9 KB) - added by bastiK 5 months ago.

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (8)

Changed 5 months ago by bastiK

Attachment: projection-default.patch added

comment:1 Changed 5 months ago by stoecker

If you drop prefs you should add them to the cleanup list, so they are removed.

comment:2 Changed 5 months ago by bastiK

Resolution: fixed
Status: newclosed

In 12306/josm:

fixed #14877 - make projection setting transient

comment:3 Changed 5 months ago by bastiK

Milestone: 17.06

comment:4 Changed 3 months ago by bastiK

In 12485/josm:

remember projection choice sub-preferences (e.g. last selected UTM zone) across sessions (not just when changing the default projection) (closes #15013, see #14877)

comment:5 Changed 3 months ago by bastiK

In 12486/josm:

see #15013, see #14877 - remember projection when session is saved to a .jos/.joz file

comment:6 Changed 3 months ago by bastiK

In 12487/josm:

add null checks (see #14877)

comment:7 Changed 3 months ago by Don-vip

In 12488/josm:

see #14877 - checkstyle

Modify Ticket

Change Properties
Set your email in Preferences
Action
as closed The owner will remain team.
as The resolution will be set.
The resolution will be deleted.

Add Comment


E-mail address and name can be saved in the Preferences.

 
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.